Congress Faculty List 2024

Faculty List for CardioSarasota, Florida 24/24/24

24th Annual National Sarasota, Florida Congress for

Cardiovascular Disease Prevention and Optimal Treatment Update

Hosted by 24 most renowned National and International Professors

of Cardiology in February 2024


Faculty List:



Program Director

President, International Society for Cardiovascular Disease Prevention (ISCVDP)

Fellow American Society of Preventive Cardiology

Clinical Professor of Medicine, Universities of Florida and South Florida

Golden Doctor Diploma University of Vienna Austria 2014

Past Member Board of Trustee American Society of Preventive Cardiology[ASPC]

Past Member Board of Trustees Association of Black Cardiologists [ABC]

Medical Director, Cardiovascular Health Assessment Center

President, Cardiovascular Center of Sarasota

Medical Director and Founder SMH Cardiovascular Disease Prevention Center  2007 - 2010

Sarasota, Florida


Matthew Budoff, MD, FACC

Professor of Medicine, UCLA

Endowed Chair of Preventive Cardiology

Program Director, Division of Cardiology

Los Angeles Biomedical Research Institute

Los Angeles, California


Jay N. Cohn, MD, FACC, FAHA

Program Co-Director

Vice President, ISCVDP

Professor of Medicine (Emeritus), Cardiology University of Minnesota

Former Director, Rasmussen Center for Cardiovascular Disease Prevention

University of Minnesota Medical School

President American Society of Hypertension, 1990-1992

President International Society of Hypertension, 1996-1998

President Heart Failure Society of America, 1995-1998

President International Society of Cardiovascular Pharmacotherapy, 2008-2010

Minneapolis, Minnesota


Anthony DeMaria, MD, FACC

Program Co-Director

Vice President, ISCVDP

Professor of Medicine, Division of Cardiovascular Disease, U.C. San Diego, CA

President American College of Cardiology1989-1990

Editor in Chief of American Journal of Cardiology 2002-2014

San Diego, California


Icilma Fergus, MD, FACC

Professor of Cardiology, Icahn School of Medicine/Mount Sinai

Director of Cardiovascular Disparity and Clinical Lipidology

Past President American Black Cardiologists (ABC)

New York, New York

Anthony Fletcher, MD, FACC, FSCAI, FAHA

President-Elect and Chair of the Bylaws Committee Association of Black Cardiologists

Little Rock, Arkansas


Robert Gillespie, MD, FACC, FASE, FASNC

Director of Nuclear Imaging, Sharp Rees-Stealy Medical Group

Past Chairman of the Board, Association of Black Cardiologists, ABC

San Diego, California


Martha Gulati, MD, MS, FACC, FAHA

President American Society for Preventive Cardiology

Director of Prevention and Associate Director of the Barbara Streisand Women’s Heart Center

Los Angeles, California


Thomas Kelly, MD, FACS

Secretary/Treasurer, ISCVDP

Cardiovascular Surgeon

Sarasota Memorial Hospital

Sarasota, Florida


Fred M. Kusumoto, MD, FHRS

Immediate Past President, Heart Rhythm Society

Professor and Associate Dean of Faculty Affairs

Mayo Clinic Alix School of Medicine

Jacksonville, Florida


Jagat Narula, MD, PhD, MACC

President-Elect 2023-2024 World Heart Federation

Executive Vice President and Chief Academic Officer, University of Texas Health, Houston

K. Lance Gould Distinguished Professor for Study of Coronary Pathophysiology

McGovern Medical School

Houston, Texas


Elizabeth O. Ofili, MD, FACC

Board Member International Society for Cardiovascular Disease Prevention  (ISCVDP)

Professor of Medicine (Cardiology),  Morehouse School of Medicine

President-Elect ABC Board of Trustees

Past President, Association of Black Cardiologists

Atlanta, Georgia

Manesh Patel, MD

Professor of Medicine

Duke Clinical Research Institute, Duke University

Chair of the OCEANIC-AF Executive Committee

Richard Sean Stack, M.D. Distinguished Professor

Durham, North Carolina


Bertram Pitt, MD, FACC

Professor of Cardiology

University of Michigan

Ann Arbor, Michigan


Marc A. Pohl, MD

Consultant Staff, Department of Kidney Medicine, Cleveland Clinic

Past Head, Section of Clinical Hypertension and Nephrology

Past Director Center for Blood Pressure Disorders

Glickman Urological and Kidney Institute, Cleveland Clinic

Cleveland, Ohio


Vincent JB Robinson, MD, FACC, FRCPC

GE Garrison MD Distinguished Chair in Cardiovascular Medicine

Professor of Medicine and Radiology

Course Director, 8th Annual Kimmerling Cardiovascular Showcase

Co-director, Nuclear Radiology

Immediate past President, SOM Faculty Senate

Augusta, Georgia


Jeffrey Sell, MD, FACS

Chief, Cardiovascular Surgery, Sarasota Memorial Healthcare System

Sarasota, Florida


Sidney C. Smith, Jr., MD, FAHA, FESC, FACP, MACC

Professor of Medicine, Division of Cardiology UNC School of Medicine

Past President World Heart Federation

Past President American Heart Association

Chapel Hill, North Carolina


Bola Sogade MD,  FAAFP,  FACOG

Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology and Department of Family Medicine in the Physician Assistant

Program, Morehouse School of Medicine

Atlanta, GA

Medical Director ObGyne Birth Center for Natural Deliveries 

Robotic Surgeon 

Forsyth GA 


Felix Sogade, MD, FACC, FHRS

Georgia Arrhythmia Consultant Research Institute

Past Chairman of the Board, Association of Black Cardiologists (ABC)

Macon, Georgia


Laurence Sperling, MD, FACC, FAHA

Professor of Medicine (Cardiology)

Past President of the American Society for Preventive Cardiology

Director of Emory Heart Disease Prevention Center

Emory University School of Medicine

Professor of Global Health Hubert Department of Global Health Rollins School of Public Health at Emory University

Executive Director, Million Hearts

Atlanta, Georgia


Nanette K. Wenger, MD, MACC, MACP, FAHA

Program Co-Director

Vice President, ISCVDP

Professor of Medicine (Emeritus), Cardiology, Emory University School of Medicine

President Society of Geriatric Cardiology 1994-1995

Editor-in-Chief American Journal of Geriatric Cardiology for over 15 years

AHA Chair, Task Force, Heart Education for Women 1990-1999

Past Chief of Cardiology Grady Memorial Hospital

Consultant, Emory Heart & Vascular Center

Founding Consultant, Emory Women’s Heart Center

Atlanta, Georgia


International Faculty:


Magdy Abdelhamid, MD

Professor and Chief of Cardiology  Kasr El-Aini Medical School

Past President of Egyptian Society of Cardiology

Cairo, Egypt

Gamila Nasr, MD

Board Member, ISCVDP

Professor and Past Chair of Cardiology Department Suez Canal University

Board Member of the Egyptian Society of Cardiology and Past Chair of the Preventive Cardiology Section

Past President of the Working Group of Preventive Cardiology and Cardiac Rehabilitation

Head of Scientific Council of Egyptian Board of Cardiovascular Medicine

Head of Medical Society of Ismailia, Egypt

Ismailia, Egypt



Board Member, ISCVDP

Professor of Medicine, Chief of Cardiology and Dean, Lisbon School of Medicine, University of Lisbon, Portugal

Past President World Heart Federation (WHF)

Past President European Society of Cardiology (ESC)

Lisbon, Portugal


Ashraf Reda, MD

President of Egyptian Association of Vascular Biology and Atherosclerosis (EAVA)

Professor and Past Chair of Cardiology Menoufia University

Menoufia, Egypt


Faiez Zanned, MD, PhD.

Emeritus Professor of Therapeutics and Cardiology 

Université de Lorraine, Inserm Clinical Investigation Centre, CHU, Nancy, France 

Chairman, CVCT, Paris, France 

Paris, France

Bassem Zarif, MD

Vice Dean of Research and Education and Professor of Cardiology, National Heart Institute of Egypt

Board Member for Prevention Working Group, Egyptian Society of Cardiology

Cairo, Egypt