Congress Faculty

Faculty List for CardioSarasota, Florida 22/22/22

22nd Annual National Sarasota, Florida Congress for

Cardiovascular Disease Prevention and Optimal Treatment Update

Hosted by 22 of the Most Renowned National and International Professors

of Cardiology in February 2022


Faculty List:


Program Director
President, International Society for Cardiovascular Disease Prevention (ISCVDP)

Fellow American Society of Preventive Cardiology
Clinical Professor of Medicine, Universities of Florida and South Florida
Golden Doctor Diploma University of Vienna Austria 2014
Past Member Board of Trustee American Society of Preventive Cardiology[ASPC]
Past Member Board of Trustees Association of Black Cardiologists [ABC]
Medical Director, Cardiovascular Health Assessment Center
President, Cardiovascular Center of Sarasota
Medical Director and Founder SMH Cardiovascular Disease Prevention Center  2007 - 2010
Sarasota, Florida


Arthur Agatston, MD
Professor of Medicine Florida International University
Past President Society of Cardiovascular Computed Tomography (SCCT)
Miami Beach, Florida

  Javed Butler, MD, MPH, MBA
  Patrick H. Lehan Chair in Cardiovascular Research
  Professor and Chairman, Department of Medicine
  University of Mississippi Medical Center
  Jackson, Mississippi

Jay N. Cohn, MD, FACC, FAHA
Program Co-Director
Vice President, ISCVDP

Professor of Medicine (Emeritus), Cardiology University of Minnesota
Director, Rasmussen Center for Cardiovascular Disease Prevention
University of Minnesota Medical School
President American Society of Hypertension, 1990-1992
President International Society of Hypertension, 1996-1998
President Heart Failure Society of America, 1995-1998
President International Society of Cardiovascular Pharmacotherapy, 2008-2010
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Anthony DeMaria, MD, FACC
Program Co-Director
Vice President, ISCVDP

Professor of Medicine, Division of Cardiovascular Disease, U.C. San Diego, CA
President American College of Cardiology1989-1990
Editor in Chief of American Journal of Cardiology 2002-2014
San Diego, California

  Andrew E. Epstein, MD, FAHA, FACC, FHRS
  Professor of Medicine
  Electrophysiology Section, Cardiovascular Division
  University of Pennsylvania
  Philadelphia, PA
  Chief, Cardiology Section
  Crescenz VA Medical Center
  Philadelphia, PA

  Keith C. Ferdinand, MD, FACC, FAHA, FASH, FNLA
  Board Member International Society for Cardiovascular Disease
  Prevention (ISCVDP)

  Past Chairman Board of Directors Association of Black Cardiologist (ABC)
  Professor of Medicine Tulane University
  New Orleans, Louisiana

Robert Gillespie, MD, FACC, FASE, FASNC
Director of Nuclear Imaging, Sharp Rees-Stealy Medical Group
Past Chairman of the Board, Association of Black Cardiologists, ABC
San Diego, California

Eric E. Harrison, MD
CEO 501(c)3 Foundations:
The Eddie DeBartolo Society for Bridging Medical Silos, Inc.
The International Society of Cardio-Oncology, Inc
The Eddie DeBartolo International Cardio-Orthopaedics Society, Inc.
Professor of Cardiology, Morsani College of Medicine
Tampa, Florida

Dipti Itchhaporia, MD, FACC
President, American College of Cardiology
Director of Disease Management
Hoag Memorial Hospital Presbyterian, Newport Beach, California
Associate Professor University of California, Irvine

Thomas Kelly, MD, FACS
Secretary/Treasurer, ISCVDP

Cardiovascular Surgeon
Sarasota Memorial Hospital
Sarasota, Florida

  Stephen Kopecky, MD, FACC
  Asst. Secretary, ISCVDP

  Professor of Medicine, Division of Cardiovascular Disease Mayo Clinic
  Past President, American Society for Preventive Cardiology (ASPC)
  Rochester, Minnesota

Fred M. Kusumoto, MD, FHRS
President, Heart Rhythm Society
Director Heart Rhythm Services Mayo Clinic Florida
Professor and Associate Dean of Faculty Affairs
Mayo Clinic Alix School of Medicine
Jacksonville, Florida

  Erin D. Michos, MD, MHS, FAHA, FACC, FASE, FASPC
  Associate Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology
  Associate Director of Preventive Cardiology
  Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
  Baltimore, Maryland

  Carl  J. Pepine, MD, MACC, FAHA, FESC
  Professor of Medicine, University of Florida
  Chairman Vascular Biology Working Group
  Past President American College of Cardiology
  Gainesville, Florida

David Perloff, MD, FACC, FACP
Perloff Cardiovascular Care Fort Lauderdale, Florida
President - Florida Chapter American College of Cardiology
Fort Lauderdale, Florida

  Marc A. Pohl, MD
  Consultant Staff, Department of Nephrology and Hypertension, Cleveland Clinic
  Past Head, Section of Clinical Hypertension and Nephrology
  Past Director Center for Blood Pressure Disorders
  Glickman Urological and Kidney Institute, Cleveland Clinic
  Cleveland, Ohio

  Jeffrey Sell, MD, FACS
  Chief, Cardiovascular Surgery, Sarasota Memorial Healthcare System
  Sarasota, Florida

  Sidney C. Smith, Jr,. MD, FAHA, FESC, FACP, MACC
  Professor of Medicine, Division of Cardiology UNC School of Medicine
  Past President World Heart Federation
  Past President American Heart Association
  Chapel Hill, North Carolina

  Bola Sogade MD,  FAAFP,  FACOG
  Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology and Department
  of Family Medicine in the               
  Physician Assistant Program, Morehouse School of Medicine
  Atlanta, GA
  Medical Director ObGyne Birth Center for Natural Deliveries 
  Robotic Surgeon 
  Forsyth GA 

Felix Sogade, MD, FACC, FHRS
Georgia Arrhythmia Consultant Research Institute
Past Chairman of the Board, Association of Black Cardiologists (ABC)
Macon, Georgia

Laurence Sperling, MD, FACC, FAHA
Professor of Medicine (Cardiology)
Past President of the American Society for Preventive Cardiology
Director of Emory Heart Disease Prevention Center
Emory University School of Medicine
Professor of Global Health Hubert Department of Global Health Rollins School of Public Health at Emory University
Executive Director, Million Hearts
Atlanta, Georgia

C Michael Valentine, MD MACC FAHA FSCAI
Professor of Medicine, Cardiovascular Division
University of Virginia
Past President, American College of Cardiology

Nanette K. Wenger, MD, MACC, MACP, FAHA
Program Co-Director
Vice President, ISCVDP

Professor of Medicine (Emeritus), Cardiology, Emory University School of Medicine
President Society of Geriatric Cardiology1994-1995
Editor-in-Chief American Journal of Geriatric Cardiology for over 15 years
AHA Chair, Task Force, Heart Education for Women1990-1999
Past Chief of Cardiology Grady Memorial Hospital
Consultant, Emory Heart & Vascular Center
Founding Consultant, Emory Women’s Heart Center
Atlanta, Georgia

International Faculty:

  Gamila Nasr, MD
  Board Member, ISCVDP

  Professor and Head of Cardiology Department Suez Canal University
  General Secretary of Egyptian Society of Cardiology
  President of the Working Group of Preventive Cardiology and Cardiac Rehabilitation

Board Member, ISCVDP

Professor of Medicine, Chief of Cardiology and Dean, Lisbon School of Medicine, University of Lisbon, Portugal
President World Heart Federation (WHF)
Past President European Soc. of Cardiology (ESC)
Lisbon, Portugal

Professor Sir Magdi Yacoub, FRS, FACE
Board Member, ISCVDP

Imperial College London, Heart Science Center
Harefield, Middlesex, United Kingdom